The Forum Honored Young Adult Leaders

From 1987 through 2007, the Women’s Forum Young Adult Leadership Award (YALA) honored a young North Carolinian, who demonstrated leadership in improving the lives of North Carolinians, particularly women.

The award was established by Jan Proctor, a charter member of the Forum, in memory of her son, Robert D. Proctor.

The areas of leadership considered for this award included the fields of community service, the arts, science, physical fitness, health care, family, education, business, and the public arena. The finalists

  • received a certificate of recognition, a plaque, and a $500 cash award
  • were matched with Forum members who serve as mentors, and
  • became Associate Members of the Forum.
Year Name Position
2007 Nikki McKoy Research Associate, UNC Center for Women’s Health
2006 Valerie K. Fields CEO and founder of V. K. Fields & Company
2005 Lorrin Freeman, Raleigh Assistant Attorney General, NC Department of Justice
2004 Angela Baylis, Raleigh Doctor of Chiropractic
2003 Charletta Sims, Raleigh Director of Commuter Life and Diversity Programs, Meredith College
2002 Angelia Coleman, Durham
2001 Latrice Michelle Gay, Charlotte Director of Community Health Education, Mecklenburg Council on Adolescent Pregnancy
2000 Christine Medlin, Raleigh Leadership Director, N.C. Equity
1999 Rachel K. Esposito, Raleigh Former elementary teacher, Teaching Fellow: Third year law student, UNC at Chapel Hill, goal: reform public education
1998 D. Veronica Creech, Ferguson MO Social worker with M.S. in community Planning, UNC at Chapel Hill; Doctoral student, Saint Louis University (2000)
1997 Durenda M. Johnson International Business Senior and Student Government Assn. President, University of NC at Greensboro
1996 Kristen Goff, Raleigh Public Health Educator, Wake Co. Dept. of Health, classes in childbirth, parenting, domestic violence & smoking cessation
1995 Ortharine Williams, Raleigh Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, Saint Augustine’s College
1994 Kiran Sigmon Medical Student, ECU School of Medicine, with a goal to be a Family Medical Practitioner
1993 Barbara Taylor Hood Largest employer in Johnston County; counsels and supports women and community organizations
1992 Lee H. Wood Works for political empowerment of women and elimination of bigotry and oppression
1991 Naomi Randolph UNCG student in Dance N.C. Teaching Fellow Local volunteer, world traveler
1990 Sheila Crumb UNCW Nursing student on Chancellor Search Committee Member of the Army ROTC
1989 Julie Bell Campus leader/role model Law student with the goal to be a United States Senator
1988 Renee Stephen Vista Volunteer in Community Development of Mental Retardation Services
1988 Adelaide (Stephenson) Brooks First Executive Director of Rape Crisis/Domestic Violence Network in Johnston County
1987 Robyn Hadley Rhodes and Morehead Scholar President, Southern Assn. of Student Councils

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



WF Adopts Resolution Calling for Repeal of HB2

At its Spring 2016 Meeting the Women’s Forum adopted the following: Resolution Calling for the Repeal of HB2, the Public Facilities Privacy & Security Act enacted as S.L. 2016-3 WHEREAS, on February 22, 2016, the Charlotte City Council approved a local ordinance that adds marital status, familial status, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression […]


Attend a virtual Women’s Forum Conference

Video archive of the April 2, 2016, Women’s Forum regional conference.


Women’s Forum 2016 Spring Meeting

Along with networking, the Spring 2016 meeting of the Women’s Forum will focus on Safety and Security in the Community and related legislation.